Guest Post: Playlist for The Art of the Decoy by Trish Esden

THE ART OF THE DECOY:
My Playlist! 

This is a playlist of the songs I listened to while writing THE ART OF THE DECOY. Some of them like Colder Heavens and Lie Alone helped me get into the main character, Edie Brown’s head. Others like Way Down We Go, Brave Enough, and Complainte Pour Ste Catherine put me in the right mood for writing specific scenes. Light On reminded me of Edie’s determination and That’s What Makes This House a Home speaks to the past that drives her. Sunscreen? Well, it was the lyrics that made me choose that song. And Serenade to Spring and Who Else Could I Be are nods to Uncle Tuck and Edie’s new employee, Kala Acosta. 

Colder Heavens—Blanco White

Way Down We Go—KALEO

Brave Enough—Lindsey Stirling, Christina Perri

Complainte Pour Ste Catherine—Kate and Anna McGarrigle

Juramidam—Nick Mulvey

That’s What Makes This House a Home—Holley Maher

Belle-fille—Fally Lpupa

Sunscreen—Ira Wolf

Lie Alone—Blanco White

Natural Skin Deep—Neneh Cherry

Serenade to Spring—Songs from A Secret Garden

Cornflake Girl—Tori Amos

Castles—Freya Ridings

Who Else Could I Be—Peter Bradley Adams

Light On—Maggie Rogers

About The Book

The Art of the Decoy (A Scandal Mountain Antiques Mystery)

Perfect for fans of Jane K. Cleland and Connie Berry, Trish Esden’s series debut is sure to please.

After her mother is sent to prison for art forgery, Edie Brown returns to Northern Vermont to rebuild her family’s fine art and antiques business. She’s certain she can do it now that her mother is gone. After all, butting heads with her mom over bad business practices was what drove Edie away three years ago, including a screwup that landed Edie on probation for selling stolen property.

When Edie scores a job appraising a waterfowl decoy collection at a hoarder’s farmhouse, she’s determined to take advantage of the situation to rebuild the business’s tarnished reputation and dwindling coffers. In lieu of payment, Edie intends to cherry-pick an exceptional decoy carved by the client’s renowned Quebecoise folk artist ancestors. Only the tables turn when the collection vanishes.

Accused of the theft, Edie’s terrified that the fallout will destroy the business and land her in prison next to her mom. Desperate, she digs into the underbelly of the local antiques and art world. When Edie uncovers a possible link between the decoy theft and a deadly robbery at a Quebec museum, she longs to ask her ex-probation officer, and ex-lover, for help. But she suspects his recent interest in rekindling their romance may hide a darker motive.

With the help of her eccentric uncle Tuck and Kala, their enigmatic new employee, Edie must risk all she holds dear to expose the thieves and recover the decoys before the FBI’s Art Crime Team or the ruthless thieves themselves catch up with her.

Purchase Links – Amazon – IndieBound – Barnes & Noble – Books-a-Million – Kobo

About the Author

Trish Esden loves museums, gardens, wilderness, dogs, and birds, in various orders depending on the day. She lives in northern Vermont where she deals antiques with her husband, a profession she’s been involved with since her teens. Don’t ask what her favorite type of antique is. She loves hunting down old bottles and rusty barn junk as much as she enjoys fine art and furnishings.

Author Links
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Trish-Esden-author-108247488016132
Twitter: https://twitter.com/patesden
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/trishesden/
Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/patesden/_created/
Website: https://trishesden.com
BookBub: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/trish-esden
GoodReads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/21662893.Trish_Esden

TOUR PARTICIPANTS

March 29 – Novels Alive – GUEST POST

March 29 – Mysteries with Character – AUTHOR INTERVIEW

March 30 – The Avid Reader – REVIEW, RECIPE

March 30 – Ruff Drafts – AUTHOR INTERVIEW  

March 31 – Elizabeth McKenna – Author – SPOTLIGHT

March 31 – Christy’s Cozy Corners – GUEST POST

April 1 – Celticlady’s Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

April 1 – Christa Reads and Writes – SPOTLIGHT

April 2 – Books a Plenty Book Reviews – REVIEW, CHARACTER INTERVIEW

April 2 – FUONLYKNEW – SPOTLIGHT

April 3 – Nellie’s Book Nook – REVIEW

April 3 – #BRVL Book Review Virginia Lee Blog – SPOTLIGHT

April 4 – Novels Alive – REVIEW

April 4 – Baroness Book Trove – SPOTLIGHT

April 5 – I Read What You Write – GUEST POST

April 5 – fundinmental – SPOTLIGHT

April 6 – Maureen’s Musings – SPOTLIGHT

April 6 – Sapphyria’s Book Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

April 7 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – GUEST POST

April 7 – Lady Hawkeye – SPOTLIGHT

April 8 – Ascroft, eh? – AUTHOR INTERVIEW

April 9 – MJB Reviewers – SPOTLIGHT

April 10 – Brooke Blogs – SPOTLIGHT

April 10 – Rosepoint Publishing – REVIEW

April 11 – Melina’s Book Blog – REVIEW

Have you signed up to be a Tour Host?

Click Here to Find Details and Sign Up Today!

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s